How to make a writing schedule

Livvy Skelton-Price
4 min readMay 26, 2020

--

Writing Schedules. The dreaded schedule, something to tie us down and shoo all fun from our lives…right? Well, not the way I see it.

I really enjoy having my writing schedule for many reasons:

1) It creates a structured environment so you don’t need to force yourself to sit down in front of your writing app (should be Scrivener) every day. You just automatically do it without much fuss.

2) Having the schedule and sticking to it takes away any feelings of guilt that may occur during the day. When you stick to your schedule you are achieving your daily writing goals and you deserve a break!

3) You can write so much faster than expected. I went from believing a first draft took a year to write, and with my chosen writing schedule my first draft took 8 weeks.

4) My favourite reason is that you are achieving your goals every day and the sense of accomplishment that comes along with that is one everyone should experience!

Now, How to create your own writing schedule:

1) The Block-Out Time Schedule

This schedule is for all you visual writers that don’t like to be tied down by your watch or any other time piece in your life. This one is a fun to make. I personally find it difficult to stick to but hey, this isn’t about me. For this schedule you will need a piece of paper and some felt tips.

Now that you have your supplies draw a grid on your paper and on the top Write: Mon l Tue l Wed l Thurs l Fri l Sat l Sun
And on the side of the page write out every hour in the day from roughly when you wake up until you roughly go to sleep.

Once the grid is complete you will now colour in all the times you are busy. This is where the felt tips come in. I like to use a different colour for each activity. You will use once colour, say blue, for when you sleep, say orange, for work, green for when you chill out and so on. Once all of that has been filled out you will then be able to see what hours in the day you have spare. Those hours will be when you write.

Va La! You’ve made a “Block-out-time” Writing Schedule.

2) Word Count Schedule

This on is for you number thinkers out there. Rather than picking a time of day to write — or multiple times during the day, you choose a number of words you want to write during the day.

This could be any number from 1 to 80,000. I personally have a word count goal of 2,000 words a day. On an average day this would take me two hours to write. I recommend picking a small word count and building up from there. Writing takes stamina and energy, I recommend building that up slowly within yourself.

But if you’ve been writing for years and/or just like a challange, then go crazy! Who am I to stop you.

3) Not Allowed Technique

This was my absolute favourite way to write when I first started. This technique is for those easily distracted. If you struggle to sit down and do your work just to do it, this technique is for you.

This is a technique where you choose a start time and a finish time for your writing, I recommend 2 hours. For example 10am-12pm and that is only time during the day you are allowed to write. If you plan something inbetween this time or you procrastinate through it, too bad. You’ve missed out on writing time.

This technique really helped kick my butt into shape when it came to sitting down to do my writing for long periods of time. I recommend this technique to begin with to get you into the writing habit; then move on to the word count technique.

I have found all these technique/schedules immensely helpful, but don’t just take my word for it. Try out all the techniques and see which one suits you.

Enjoy!

--

--

Livvy Skelton-Price

Owner of Sense with Cents. Kiwi living in The Netherlands. Columnist for The Diarist. Follow the tag 'The Netherlands Diaries.' I write about travel and budgets